Organizing the Inside 365 Days

Empowering Christian Women To Get Organized and Discover God's Plan for Their Lives

Organizing the Inside – Day 169 Standing In the Valley of Decision

12“Let the nations be called to arms. Let them march to the valley of Jehoshaphat. There I, the Lord, will sit to pronounce judgment on them all. 13Swing the sickle, for the harvest is ripe. Come, tread the grapes, for the winepress is full. The storage vats are overflowing with the wickedness of these people.” 14Thousands upon thousands are waiting in the valley of decision. There the day of the Lord will soon arrive. ~Joel 3:12-14

The great day of the Lord is coming soon.
That day thousands upon thousands of people will gather for God’s judgment. Those loved ones who have not accepted Christ will be there. All the coworkers and school teachers, and church goers and grocery store clerks who rejected God’s truth will be required to wait in the valley of decision. Let’s take a moment to consider all the people we know right now, who unless they repent and accept Jesus as their personal Lord and Savior will be standing in the valley we read about in Joel. Consider all those who could have, perhaps would have accepted Christ but we did not share. Only God can see a person’s heart, and He alone will judge the unrighteous. We, however are His instruments of truth. The Lord isn’t really being slow about his promise, as some people think. No, he is being patient for your sake. He does not want anyone to be destroyed, but wants everyone to repent.
2 Peter 3:9

We must heighten our sensitivity to witnessing.
There is no greater assignment for those who know God than to love Him and put His kingdom first. By putting God’s kingdom first and living a life of obedience we represent God to those who don’t know Him. There is a world of people without hope, who are lost and dying each day. What is to come of the coworker who I ate lunch with several times before she left the company, yet failed to share the gospel of Christ? What is to come of the grocery store clerk who made sure there were fresh grapes every Saturday at noon because he knew I’d ask? What will become of the taxi cab driver who gave me a ride to my hotel and helped me with my luggage? I gave him a tip, but didn’t tell him about Christ. What about the janitor at your daughter’s school who you’ve seen several times and greeted with a smile? 

Then Jesus said to them, “So wherever you go in the world, tell everyone the Good News.Mark 16:15 The last thing that Jesus instructed us to do before He went up to heaven was to share the Good News. Why then do we not tell more people about Christ? I wonder if many of us have become complacent in our faith. We have allowed the fire (the enthusiasm and will to share the gospel) to leave. But since you are like lukewarm water, neither hot nor cold, I will spit you out of my mouth!  Revelation 3:16 I’m well acquainted with every excuse in the book. Some declare the sad excuse that I must first be led by the Spirit. I’m all for being led by the Spirit and will agree that everyone is not necessarily the one for you to witness to. But here’s the deal, what about all those who were the one, consider them. God told you clearly, “Tell them about my love” or “Tell them about my Son,” and you remained silent. You kept eating your lunch or you kept reading your book or you just looked at your watch and kept moving. What will come of all those people we have met?  Certainly there is no condemnation for them that are in Christ. I’m not trying to condemn anyone.  I only want to encourage you as I encourage myself to obey God each time He says, “Tell them about Jesus.”

It’s God who reaps the harvest!
Thank goodness He didn’t leave it up to us. However being shy, introverted or not knowing what to say isn’t going to fly, (is no good reason) once you have heard the truth. But you will receive power when the Holy Spirit comes upon you. And you will be my witnesses, telling people about me everywhere–in Jerusalem, throughout Judea, in Samaria, and to the ends of the earth.” Acts 1:8 The truth is that Jesus promised to send us the Holy Spirit who would give us the power to be a witness. It goes back to the Great Commission, Jesus said, “…wherever we go,” we should tell people about what He did for them. As for me, I’m done with excuses!

Here’s 10 simple steps to organize yourself and get started being the witness you have always wanted to be.
1.
Ask the Holy Spirit to fill you full of His power and boldness.
2. Pray for the right words to say at the right time.
3. Commit now that the next time God speaks to you about sharing the gospel you will obey.
4. Make sure you are a living witness. (get rid of any spiritual clutter in your life that could keep others from seeing  Christ in you)
5. Consider starting with the people you have already wanted to witness to but didn’t have the courage.
6. Ask God to open the door for you to share. (I promise you He will and when He does you will know it right away)
7. Consider sharing a tract which will help you get warmed up. Keep in mind the tract is not your way of avoiding a conversation. It may be more of a conversation starter.
8. Memorize a few basic scriptures, or write them down on a 3×5 card. These are my favorites for witnessing and are easy to explain.  John 3:16, Romans 10:9, 10 and 11 for yourself, Revelation 3:20
9.
 Remember you don’t have to study other religions first (it may be helpful, but could also lead to fruitless disputes) Just tell them the Word. It is the same with my word. I send it out, and it always produces fruit. It will accomplish all I want it to, and it will prosper everywhere I send it. Isaiah 55:11
10.
Be open and trust God. He will give you the right opportunity that is especially for you. If they don’t receive His words, you’ve done your part, no worries there. “Whoever does not receive you, nor heed your words, as you go out of that house or that city, shake the dust off your feet. Mathew 10:14 And if the house is worthy, let your peace come upon it, but if it is not worthy, let your peace return to you. Matthew 10:12

I invite you to please post a comment if you have any other suggestions to help us all be better witnesses for Christ. Thank you in advance for sharing!

2 Comments»

  poeticjourney wrote @

Another good post from you Liz. You so right we got to start sharing the word with everyone or anyone! I use to have group on another site, I made sure to have my group be surrounded by GOD. It was totally different from everyone. I never thought I would touch so many people life with it, but I did! So thank you for sharing this post! I do hope y9ou having a good Sunday! God Bless 🙂

  Liz Mason wrote @

Hey PJ thanks for sharing your thoughts. I know there are so many creative ways we can share God’s word. I think the important thing is to obey God when He speaks to us to do it. I appreciate you being there!


Share encouragement!

