Organizing the Inside 365 Days

Empowering Christian Women To Get Organized and Discover God's Plan for Their Lives

Organizing the Inside – Day 155 Just Have A Good Cry

Rejoice with those who are rejoicing. Cry with those who are crying. ~Romans 12:15

Maybe it’s time for a good cry?
If God didn’t want us to cry then why on earth did He give us tears? He knew that we would experience emotions that mere words could not express. He foreknew that we would need an outlet and gave each one of us the ability to cry. I’ve often found my husband laughing at my tears over Hallmark commercials or sappy love stories. My favorite of all times is A Walk To Remember and oh, Two Red Ferns. I was so thrilled to find them in the $5.00 bin at Wal-Mart that I could hardly hold back the tears. Yes, my husband laughed at me then too.

Crying makes me feel weak.
Contrary to popular belief, crying is not a sign of weakness; it’s a clear sign of strength. If it was a sign of weakness, what’s wrong with that? … And he said unto me, My grace is sufficient for you: for my strength is made perfect in weakness. Most gladly therefore will I rather boast in my weaknesses, that the power of Christ may rest upon me.
2 Corinthians 12:9
Being strong has nothing to do with putting on a happy face when you’re hurting inside. You can cry without having a “pity party” and without going into “emotional failure.”  We are emotional creatures and sometimes, a good cry before the throne of grace can give you a completely different perspective from the miserable outlook you’ve been holding on to.  I cannot count the times that God turned my tears of sadness into real tears of absolute joy.

I never understood as a child when my parents would get together with family.
We’d end a perfectly reasonable day of running, playing jump rope and hopscotch with tears. It seemed like every super fun, dirty your clothes and mess up your braids-day with my cousins, would end in tears. It was either my Dad or my Uncle Dump, (we called him Dump) would call all the children to gather around and trust me this was not optional. So all my cousins, brothers and sisters would gather around in the family room for a moment, no it seemed like an hour of prayer. I just didn’t get it… why was everyone crying? All the adults and soon to be adults were sniffing and wiping tears. My cousins and I would look at each other with our eyes about to pop out of our heads as we tried to understand what made everyone so sad all of a sudden. We only knew that just at about the time the tissue box was completely empty, it was about to end. We’d all say amen, and run off to get in five more minutes of hide and seek before we said our goodbyes.

As I became older, I later understood it was a true and honest expression of love and gratitude towards God that made my big strong, handsome Dad weep as he prayed. I get it now, the tissue box was empty, yet their hearts were full.  We’re all grown now and usually only see each other during funerals and weddings for the most part, but those hours of heart-felt family prayer was a tradition many of us kept going in our own families.

Crying is beneficial to your health
Studies show that crying literally allows your body to release toxins that build up as a result of stress in your life. So is crying God ordained?  I believe in His infinite wisdom he knew we’d experience happiness and gratitude, sadness and loss and gave us the special gift of crying as a way to release emotions that sometimes our hearts are to full to hold inside. So the next time you find yourself so full of the complex emotions that tend to overwhelm, go ahead and let those tear ducts have at it. Let it out, don’t try to shake them off or hold them back go to your prayer closet (of course, not in the middle of a business meeting) and let God’s good gift of crying help release your stress.  A time to cry and a time to laugh… Ecclesiastes 3:4a When you finish, get back to the business of serving Him with exceedingly great joy, excitement and anticipation of all the good things He has in store for you.

There will come a day when we won’t have need of tears. He will wipe every tear from their eyes, and there will be no more death or sorrow or crying or pain. All these things are gone forever.”  Revelations 21:4 Meanwhile, periodically use the gift of crying it really works!

8 Comments»

  oilofjoyandgarmentsofpraise wrote @

What a great blog! So glad to have found it. Every blessing 🙂

  Liz Mason wrote @

Hello, welcome!! I’m so glad you found us as well. I love your name and will check out your blog also. My prayer is that whatever you read here will bring you pause, and help strengthen you to be more organized to fulfill God’s plan for your life.Thanks for stopping by.

  karen augustine wrote @

Liz, Liz, literally as I am writing this there are tears streaming down my face. I just got the news of someone that I have been praying for that I don’t even know passed away at my church. He was a brother in the Lord and even though I don’t know him, I loved him anyway. I was following his journey of life after he was shot doing the Lord’s work.
As well, I received word that my aunt had a stroke and is paralyzed and probably will not make it. Her life was full of serving God and others and I can just imagine how angry she is lying on her bed unable to speak or move. i weep with tears as I think of her, one who was full of life and energy to have to endure this horrible tragedy.

My own father is dying as well and today I celebrated my birthday and he was unable to participate because his body wanted to sleep the whole time. He may never celebrate another birthday with me. I weep as I think of him trying to stay awake, but death is taking him.

I have had another issue where I may have to take the biggest step of faith I have ever taken in my life. I weep as I hope I am hearing God correctly and not make the mistake that could cause me to lose everything I own.

With all of that being said, my tears are tears of fear of making the wrong choices, sadness because it hurts, of joy because morning brings joy again, sadness, and healing because I know my God is faithful in all things, and no matter if my choices are good or bad, he will always be my God and savior who loves me and will take care of me.

I always say I like to cry because it brings me release, it helps me reflect and remember how blessed I really am. It makes me appreciative of what and who I am and have. It just feels good all over to be able to express my emotions freely.

Liz, how timely this post is and thank you for allowing me to put my tears on paper to share with others.

Like I said my tears will bring joy in the morning. My God is so good!!

Thank you.

Karen

  Liz Mason wrote @

Karen, my heart hurts with you as I consider all that you are having to deal with. There are so many questions to the things we see and do not understand. God has limited our ability to acquire certain knowledge. Nevertheless His word gives us limitless hope. This one thing I do know and stand firmly on until Jesus Himself appears; God’s WORD is inerrant, indisputable, unquestionable, and the only thing that is TRUE and will never change. Therefore may you find comfort in knowing: I consider that our present sufferings are not worth comparing with the glory that will be revealed in us.Romans 8:18
May God bless and keep you, and may He hide you under the tabernacle of His wing.

  Deborah wrote @

Our tears are so important that God saves them in a bottle!
(NASB) You have taken account of my wanderings; Put my tears in Your bottle. Are they not in Your book?
Psalm 56:7-9
He would not waste his time saving worthless things!

  Liz Mason wrote @

Oh my Deborah, how timely your comment. I originally put that in my post but then deleted it because I only remembered it as scripture but wasn’t sure if it was. When I went to find the reference, I couldn’t so I took it out. Thank you so much for sharing this verse with me and other readers!!

  findingorderincorpusa wrote @

Liz,

I remember those days well. It is hard to believe that our Dads are gone, but they both left some great memories. I find myself crying a lot, but it is not out of sadness. The Spirit of the Lord just overwhelms me and there is just no other way to release how I feel. In my prayers the tears flow. For me, it shows the Joyfulness that our life is supposed to be. God is truly AWESOME and I am so very grateful for all His many blessings. By the way, there are times that I have to explain to my husband also that my crying is a good thing.

  Liz Mason wrote @

Hey there Cuz,
Candy I tell no one can ever replace them, but because of Christ we have the hope and assurance that we will see them again. Our Dads were rare men, in that they understood how a good cry could sometimes just make things a whole lot better. God is always waiting and ready to mend the brokenhearted and receive our praise. You’re right He is so awesome!! To know Him is to love Him and to love Him is to serve Him. So glad you stopped by Cuz. Love y’all!


Share encouragement!

