Organizing the Inside 365 Days

Empowering Christian Women To Get Organized and Discover God's Plan for Their Lives

Organizing the Inside – Day 151 Stop Borrowing Worries from Yesterday and Tomorrow

4Always be full of joy in the Lord. I say it again—rejoice! 5Let everyone see that you are considerate in all you do. Remember, the Lord is coming soon. 6Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything. Tell God what you need, and thank him for all he has done. 7Then you will experience God’s peace, which exceeds anything we can understand. His peace will guard your hearts and minds as you live in Christ Jesus.

8And now, dear brothers and sisters, one final thing. Fix your thoughts on what is true, and honorable, and right, and pure, and lovely, and admirable. Think about things that are excellent and worthy of praise. 9Keep putting into practice all you learned and received from me—everything you heard from me and saw me doing. Then the God of peace will be with you.
~ Philippians 4:4-8

Live in the moment.
Some may think, well that’s just irresponsible. Really all we have is what we have right now. Sometimes I wonder if we spend too much of our time reviewing what presumably is a laundry list of past hiccups, or future circumstances that we cannot control, or only imagine will exist. Living life in the moment can be rather refreshing; a different approach to the day’s challenges. No matter what, something in my DNA makes me over prepare for everything. Trust me, if there is a possibility that any one thing might occur, I have a contingency plan already in place. Yes, I salute my precious checklist daily, as I make certain each hour is well-appointed. Order and top-notch execution of my strategically planned activities will keep me from coming apart at the mere thought of a lull in my schedule. Processes and systems are the keys to keeping everything in tip-top condition, right?

Today, I abandoned my checklist.
Today, my “To Do” lists were replaced with a strange call to carefree simplicity, to actually cross over the line. I crossed the line and instead of my usually well scheduled and planned activities; I promised to not worry about all the things that didn’t get done this one day. I promised to not worry about the monumental costs of having a freebie, just one day to do whatever I wanted. Yes, I took a few hours to walk the plank completely blindfolded. Who does this? One whole day unobligated, no agenda, no worries, no rules (well there are always rules; I didn’t abandon my sanity, only my trusty “To Do” lists).

So, can one simply enjoy being present “now” and living in the moment?
Can she enjoy life without considering the consequences of a choice that wasn’t derived from 20 minutes of self debate? Will the world be worse if I sit in the garden and sip a cup of tea? What if I listen to what I hear; and actually look at what I see? What if I allow my senses to experience what is around me, experiencing the moment with my autopilot off? Will today still be okay, if I don’t ponder tomorrow’s obstacle or contemplate yesterday’s mistakes? I think so, I sure hope so. Hum?

Today I abandoned my plans without worry; today I embraced whatever God had for me and actually spent my day joyfully living in the moment.

No comments yet»

Share encouragement!

